Texas Public Power Association | Powering Texas Communities

The state’s 72 Municipally Owned Utilities (MOUs) provide power to over 5.1 million Texans, representing approximately 15 percent of the state’s population. We also represent several electric cooperatives and joint action agencies in Texas. TPPA members have been serving communities since the inception of electric service for over 100 years.

MOUs own wires/poles/meter infrastructure, acquire power supplies and provide customer service to residential, commercial and industrial customers. Some larger MOUs own and operate electric power plants. Local authorities govern MOUs setting rates and policies that are responsive to community priorities.

Texas Public Power Association

Member Systems

Municipally Owned Utilities (MOUs)

  • Austin Energy
  • City of Bartlett
  • Bastrop Power & Light
  • City of Bellville
  • City of Boerne
  • City of Bowie
  • City of Brady
  • City of Brenham
  • City of Bridgeport
  • City of Brownfield
  • Brownsville PUB
  • Bryan Texas Utilities
  • City of Burnet
  • City of Caldwell
  • City of Castroville
  • City of Coleman
  • College Station Utilities
  • CPS Energy
  • City of Cuero
  • Denton Municipal Electric
  • City of Electra *
  • City of Farmersville
  • City of Flatonia
  • Floresville Electric Light & Power System
  • City of Floydada
  • City of Fredericksburg
  • Garland Power & Light
  • Georgetown Utility Systems
  • City of Giddings *
  • City of Goldsmith
  • City of Goldthwaite
  • City of Gonzales *
  • City of Granbury
  • Greenville Electric Utility System
  • City of Hallettsville
  • City of Hearne
  • City of Hemphill
  • City of Hempstead
  • City of Hondo
  • City of Jasper
  • Kerrville PUB
  • City of Kirbyville
  • City of La Grange
  • City of Lampasas
  • City of Lexington
  • City of Liberty
  • City of Livingston
  • City of Llano
  • City of Lockhart
  • Lubbock Power & Light
  • City of Luling
  • City of Mason
  • City of Moulton
  • New Braunfels Utilities
  • City of Newton
  • City of Robstown
  • City of San Augustine
  • City of San Marcos
  • City of San Saba
  • City of Sanger
  • City of Schulenburg
  • City of Seguin
  • City of Seymour
  • City of Shiner
  • City of Smithville
  • City of Timpson
  • City of Tulia
  • City of Waelder
  • City of Weatherford
  • City of Weimar *
  • City of Whitesboro
  • City of Yoakum


  • Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative
  • Fayette Electric Cooperative
  • Pedernales Electric Cooperative

Joint Action Agencies

  • Sam Rayburn Municipal Power Agency
  • Texas Municipal Power Agency
  • West Texas Municipal Power Agency

*inactive city member

Powering Texas Communities

1891: First Public Power System in Texas

MOUs were a driving force in the development of electricity in Texas, beginning in 1891 with the city of Greenville's election to form an electric company.

72 MOU Power Systems in Texas

MOUs provide affordable, reliable power to community owners.

23,872 Miles of Lines and Infrastructre

MOUs invest in Texas and its communities through capital investments, including system growth

A-A+ Typical Investment-Grade Bond Ratings

MOUs play a stabilizing role in the ERCOT market due to investment-grade ratings and the ability to commit to long-term power purchase contracts.